The most up-to-date content on the planet
this just in
 RSS
WEEI » This Just In » Ortiz in boot for week, to get second opinion
Tue, 07/17/2012 - 3:50pm  

Ortiz in boot for week, to get second opinion

David Ortiz said prior to the Red Sox' game against the White Sox Tuesday that after undergoing an MRI on his injured right achilles tendon earlier in the day, it was determined that he will wear a protective boot for a week and then be reevaluated after that. Ortiz will, however, fly to Miami either Tuesday or Wednesday to get a second opinion, which will be conducted by Miami Heat team doctor Harlan Selesnick.

Ortiz said the team was going to wait until after the results of the second opinion before deciding on whether or not the designated hitter would go on the 15-day disabled list. It has been determined that there is no tear or rupture to the achilles.

The DH said while the injury is in the same area as the spot he was struck with bursitis last August (missing nine games), it was not the same injury.

Ortiz also said that he was initially very concerned when first feeling the pain while rounding second base during Adrian Gonzalez' eighth-inning home run Monday.

"I was worried about because it got really sore," said Ortiz, who underwent the MRI at approximately 9 a.m. Tuesday. "I never felt that pain before. I didn't think it was too bad, but I knew it was going to keep me out for a while."

Ortiz leads the American League in OPS at 1.024 while also hitting .316 with 23 homers in 89 games.

"I talked with some of the medical staff, they thought the 24-hour wait at least is something that gives you a different opinion sometimes. We’ll wait at least the 24 hours and probably into [Wednesday], maybe until we get a second opinion," said Red Sox manager Bobby Valentine.

Valentine said that he was not concerned about a short bench, particularly given that such circumstances have become very familiar for the Red Sox this year.

"I think most teams do it, so we have weathered the storm I think. I don’t think the players are affected by it at all," he said. "I just deal with it as if someone came out of the game in the first inning with a hamstring or something and you’re playing the rest of the game."

For now, Valentine suggested, he plans to mix and match at DH in Ortiz's absence.

For more Red Sox news, go to the team page at weei.com/redsox.




Audio On Demand

Michael Irvin with Dale a…

Michael Irvin with Dale and Holley

We check in with the playmaker, Hall of Famer Michael Irvin joins us for his weekly conversation about the NFL. We talk to Michael about the Raiders first win, the LeGarrette Blount saga, and how Patriots-Lions might play out.

Kyle Arrington previews Pats-Lions 11-21-14

Just out of practice, Kyle Arrington joins the guys to preview Pats-Lions

11-19-14-TragsPriceWedsCast

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price preview Sunday's Patriots-Lions game and discuss what the Pats offense needs to do against Detroit's front seven, as well as what the Pats defense can do against Calvin Johnson.

We Hate Dwayne Wade - Mar…

We Hate Dwayne Wade - Marcus Smart injury 11-12-14

How have the Celtics looked after a couple weeks? Could they be a playoff team? These questions and more...

WHDW - Greg Dickerson Joins the Show to talk Celtics

Sam and Ben talk with Greg Dickerson about how fun this year's Celtics team is to watch as well Jeff Green trade ideas.

Kyle Draper, Comcast Sports New England, Celtics will compete for a playoff spot this season

Kyle Draper joins Danny Picard to talk about the Celtics chances this season in the Eastern Conference, last Wednesday's home opener blowout against the Nets, and Rajon Rondo's future in Boston

Brian MacPherson, Provide…

Brian MacPherson, Providence Journal

Red Sox beat writer Brian MacPherson joins Danny Picard to talk about the Red Sox going after Jon Lester and other free agents.

Hot Stove Show 11-20-14

The Hot Stove guys are talking about Pablo Sandoval and Jon Lester's contract offers from the Red Sox. They then por one out for the Giancarlo Stanton rumors being put to bed.

Hot Stove Show 11-13-14

The Hot Stove boys are back again, talking about Jon Lester, Pablo Sandoval, Giancarlo Stanton's b

NESN's Jack Edwards with …

NESN's Jack Edwards with Dale and Holley

Dale and Michael get Jack Edwards' 'state of the B' report and talk about the win over the Blues at the Garden on Tuesday.

Andy Brickley, NESN, talks about the Bruins 2-0 win over St. Louis, 11-19-14

Andy Brickley joined the show and touched on last night's convincing win over a good team, Matt Bartkowski needing a wake up call, and the NHL review process.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports. NHL should have a coach's challenge 11-13-14

Pierre joins the guys to talk about the Bruins struggles, the NHL franchise in Las Vegas, and the return of the glow puck!

Boston College Steve Adda…

Boston College Steve Addazio on Florida State 11-21-14

BC's head coach joined the show to preview the Florida State game.

Rodney Harrison on Gronk 11-21-14

Rodney Harrison previewed the Patriots and Lions with the guys.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: President Obama's new immigration policy 11-21-14

The top stories of the as recounted by Kirk Minihane.

Christian's Dad, Detectiv…

Christian's Dad, Detective Fauria tales for VICE squad 11-21-14

Detective Fauria tells us the infamous gloryhole story from VICE squad and other stories Christian's past.

Kyle Arrington previews Pats-Lions 11-21-14

Just out of practice, Kyle Arrington joins the guys to preview Pats-Lions

Christian Fauria prank calls Detroit sports radio 97.1 The Ticket; praises nephew Joseph Fauria 11-21-14

Christian in Foxboro returns, this time he's trolling Detroit sports radio station 97.1 The Ticket's Stoney and Bill show . Christian rips Lions fans and asks why his nephew, Joseph, isn't getting the ball more.

Michael Irvin: Bill Belic…

Michael Irvin: Bill Belichick manages people as well as he manages X's and O's

We check in with the playmaker Michael Irvin for his weekly update on all things NFL. We talk to Michael about the Raiders first win, the LeGarrette Blount saga, and how the Pats will do against the Lions this weekend.

Great week turns sour for Jonas Gray as he reportedly gets sent home for being late to practice

Michael and Dale discuss Jonas Gray's tardiness, and try and predict how the running-back will respond and make up for his error.

Which Patriots team do the 2014 Patriots remind you most of?

We talk with Tom E Curran and debate whether or not the Patriots current performance is more reminiscent of the 2004 or 2007 Patriots.

Brandon Alisoglu gives us…

Brandon Alisoglu gives us an analysis of the Lions

Brandon covers the NFL, particularly the Detroit Lions for Bleacher Report. He gives us his thoughts on this Sunday's game and how the Lions stack up against the Patriots.

Cold, Hard Football Talk

Mikey, Villani, Lenny and Kerry Byrne are talking Patriots-Lions and how the team this year stacks up to Patriots teams of the past.

Wonderin' Why the Lions Suck

Some more Musical Mikey Magic to get ready for Sunday's Patriots-Lions game.

UnSportsManLike Podcast -…

UnSportsManLike Podcast - 30 for 30 Ideas 11-21-14

Jerry Thornton's first podcast explores sports stories that would make for interesting 30 for 30 documentaries.

College Puckcast with Andy Merritt and Merrimack coach Mark Dennehy

Andy Merritt of the New England Hockey Journal joined WEEI.com’s Scott McLaughlin to talk about the play of Vermont and Providence, as well as other happenings around Hockey East. Merrimack coach Mark Dennehy also joined the show to talk about his team’s good start, his freshman class and how he uses possession stats.

We Hate Dwyane Wade - Mike Mutnansky Talks Hated Players and Rajon Rondo.

Joining the show today Mut the all-purpose back of WEEI. We talk about players we have hated over the years as well as Rajon Rondo and what is ailing the Celtics.

Adam Schefter: I'm pickin…

Adam Schefter: I'm picking Detriot 11-21-14

Adam Schefter joins the guys to give his prediction for Pats-Lions, talks about the snow in Buffalo, and the Adrian Peterson saga.

More from this show

The Patriots win again wi…

The Patriots win again without taking the field 11-21-14

The guys opened the show discussing the Raiders win over the Chiefs.

More from this show

Rodney Harrison on Gronk …

Rodney Harrison on Gronk 11-21-14

Rodney Harrison previewed the Patriots and Lions with the guys.

More from this show

We should have seen the r…

We should have seen the resigning of LeGarrette Blount by the Patriots coming

Michael and Dale discuss the return of LGB, and how the move really wasn't that surprising to begin with.

More from this show

Christian Fauria prank ca…

Christian Fauria prank calls Detroit sports radio WDFN; praises nephew Joseph Fauria

Christian in Foxboro returns, this time he's trolling Detroit sports radio station WDFN's Shep in the Morning Show. Christian rips Lions fans and asks why his nephew, Joseph, isn't getting the ball more.

More from this show

Weei Writers