The most up-to-date content on the planet
this just in
 RSS
WEEI » This Just In » Lucic handed "match" penalty, facing suspension pending review
Sat, 04/18/2009 - 11:00pm  

Lucic handed "match" penalty, facing suspension pending review

Following an incident in front of the Montreal net in the third period of Saturday night's Game 2 victory, B's winger Milan Lucic is facing a "suspension pending review" by the NHL after earning a "match" penalty. Lucic was wrapped in a physical altercation with Mathieu Schneider in front of the Canadiens net, and then raised both his stick and fist at the face of Maxim Lapierre as he approached Lucic. The B's contend that Lucic hit Lapierre in the face area with his glove rather than the stick, but he was assessed a cross-checking minor, fighting major and game misconduct for his actions.

 

"(Lucic) might have lost his composure a little bit in that area, but what you have to remember is that he got elbowed in the head and then high-sticking by Schneider. Then Lapierre comes in and Lapierre's been an instigator through the whole series and even during the regular season," said Bruins coach Claude Julien. "What Looch did was react to (Lapierre) coming at him. It wasn't premeditated, and in revieweing it (Lucic) hit him with his glove. He had the stick in his hands, but the glove hit (Lapierre) in the helmet. Had the stick hit him in the head then Lapierre would have been down, but Lapierre stayed up and kept going at Looch. If there's one thing, we all know that it wasn't premeditated." 




Audio On Demand

Kyle Arrington previews P…

Kyle Arrington previews Pats-Lions 11-21-14

Just out of practice, Kyle Arrington joins the guys to preview Pats-Lions

11-19-14-TragsPriceWedsCast

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price preview Sunday's Patriots-Lions game and discuss what the Pats offense needs to do against Detroit's front seven, as well as what the Pats defense can do against Calvin Johnson.

A Family Affair - Christians nephew and Lions TE Joseph Fauria joins the show, 11-19-14

Detroit Lions TE Joseph Fauria is the nephew of the our own Christian Fauria. He joined the show today to talk about being a Pats fan as a kid, being a better athlete than his uncle, and before all was said and done, things got personal.

We Hate Dwayne Wade - Mar…

We Hate Dwayne Wade - Marcus Smart injury 11-12-14

How have the Celtics looked after a couple weeks? Could they be a playoff team? These questions and more...

WHDW - Greg Dickerson Joins the Show to talk Celtics

Sam and Ben talk with Greg Dickerson about how fun this year's Celtics team is to watch as well Jeff Green trade ideas.

Kyle Draper, Comcast Sports New England, Celtics will compete for a playoff spot this season

Kyle Draper joins Danny Picard to talk about the Celtics chances this season in the Eastern Conference, last Wednesday's home opener blowout against the Nets, and Rajon Rondo's future in Boston

Hot Stove Show 11-20-14

Hot Stove Show 11-20-14

The Hot Stove guys are talking about Pablo Sandoval and Jon Lester's contract offers from the Red Sox. They then por one out for the Giancarlo Stanton rumors being put to bed.

Hot Stove Show 11-13-14

The Hot Stove boys are back again, talking about Jon Lester, Pablo Sandoval, Giancarlo Stanton's b

Rob Bradford, WEEI.com, checks in from the GM meetings in Arizona, 11-11-14

WEEI.com's Rob Bradford checks in with the show to give us some updates on what's happening in Phoenix. The Sox are rumored to be interested in Pablo Sandoval, Cole Hammels would have to approve a trade to Boston, and Gordon Edes says that Jon Lester re-signing with club is still a possibility.

NESN's Jack Edwards with …

NESN's Jack Edwards with Dale and Holley

Dale and Michael get Jack Edwards' 'state of the B' report and talk about the win over the Blues at the Garden on Tuesday.

Andy Brickley, NESN, talks about the Bruins 2-0 win over St. Louis, 11-19-14

Andy Brickley joined the show and touched on last night's convincing win over a good team, Matt Bartkowski needing a wake up call, and the NHL review process.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports. NHL should have a coach's challenge 11-13-14

Pierre joins the guys to talk about the Bruins struggles, the NHL franchise in Las Vegas, and the return of the glow puck!

Boston College Steve Adda…

Boston College Steve Addazio on Florida State 11-21-14

BC's head coach joined the show to preview the Florida State game.

Rodney Harrison on Gronk 11-21-14

Rodney Harrison previewed the Patriots and Lions with the guys.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: President Obama's new immigration policy 11-21-14

The top stories of the as recounted by Kirk Minihane.

Christian's Dad, Detectiv…

Christian's Dad, Detective Fauria tales for VICE squad 11-21-14

Detective Fauria tells us the infamous gloryhole story from VICE squad and other stories Christian's past.

Kyle Arrington previews Pats-Lions 11-21-14

Just out of practice, Kyle Arrington joins the guys to preview Pats-Lions

Christian Fauria prank calls Detroit sports radio 97.1 The Ticket; praises nephew Joseph Fauria 11-21-14

Christian in Foxboro returns, this time he's trolling Detroit sports radio station 97.1 The Ticket's Stoney and Bill show . Christian rips Lions fans and asks why his nephew, Joseph, isn't getting the ball more.

We should have seen the r…

We should have seen the resigning of LeGarrette Blount by the Patriots coming

Michael and Dale discuss the return of LGB, and how the move really wasn't that surprising to begin with.

Blue Jackets' Jack Johnson: A cautionary tale of trust and finances

We discuss the Jack Johnson story... the NHL player who bankrupted by his own PARENTS.

Dale and Holley's Four at Four - Welcome Back to Boston Edition - 11-20-14

We welcome back LeGarrette Blount by looking at the best returns to Boston in recent memory.

Brandon Alisoglu gives us…

Brandon Alisoglu gives us an analysis of the Lions

Brandon covers the NFL, particularly the Detroit Lions for Bleacher Report. He gives us his thoughts on this Sunday's game and how the Lions stack up against the Patriots.

Cold, Hard Football Talk

Mikey, Villani, Lenny and Kerry Byrne are talking Patriots-Lions and how the team this year stacks up to Patriots teams of the past.

Wonderin' Why the Lions Suck

Some more Musical Mikey Magic to get ready for Sunday's Patriots-Lions game.

College Puckcast with And…

College Puckcast with Andy Merritt and Merrimack coach Mark Dennehy

Andy Merritt of the New England Hockey Journal joined WEEI.com’s Scott McLaughlin to talk about the play of Vermont and Providence, as well as other happenings around Hockey East. Merrimack coach Mark Dennehy also joined the show to talk about his team’s good start, his freshman class and how he uses possession stats.

We Hate Dwyane Wade - Mike Mutnansky Talks Hated Players and Rajon Rondo.

Joining the show today Mut the all-purpose back of WEEI. We talk about players we have hated over the years as well as Rajon Rondo and what is ailing the Celtics.

SoccerCast - MLS Playoffs, Revs latest 11-15-14

Ben and Russ talk about the Revs, MLS Playoffs, and much much more.

Bill Parcells: With the w…

Bill Parcells: With the way I left New England, retrospectively I'd do things differently

Dale and Michael do an in-depth interview with one of the people that saved NFL football in New England. Bill Parcells, co-author of Parcells: A Football Life.

More from this show

Christian Fauria prank ca…

Christian Fauria prank calls Detroit sports radio WDFN; praises nephew Joseph Fauria

Christian in Foxboro returns, this time he's trolling Detroit sports radio station WDFN's Shep in the Morning Show. Christian rips Lions fans and asks why his nephew, Joseph, isn't getting the ball more.

More from this show

Adam Schefter: I'm pickin…

Adam Schefter: I'm picking Detriot 11-21-14

Adam Schefter joins the guys to give his prediction for Pats-Lions, talks about the snow in Buffalo, and the Adrian Peterson saga.

More from this show

Rob Bradford with the lat…

Rob Bradford with the latest on Jon Lester

Bradford joined the show with the latest on the Red Sox off-season moves.

More from this show

Tom Brady "No more BS ind…

Tom Brady "No more BS indoor games" 11-18-14

Tom Brady joined the show to discuss the big win over Andrew Luck and the Colts.

More from this show

Weei Writers